Allied territories, republics and
occupation areas

    Here is a summary of the russian allied territories, republics and occupation areas;
    • Location
    • government
    • area
    • population
    • capitol
    • summary





Location: South of Russia, bounded by Georgia, Azerbaijan, Iran and Turkey
Government: Republic
Area: 11,306 sq. miles
Population: 3,300,00 in 1989
Capital: Yerevan


With Azerbaijan and Georgia, Armenia made up the Transcaucasian Federation of Soviet Republics.
Stamps of Armenia were replaced in 1923 by those Transcaucasian Federated Republics.
With the breakup of the Soviet Union on December 26, 1991, Armenia and ten former Soviet republics established the Commonwealth of independent States.



Location: Southernmost part of Russia in Eastern Europe, bounded by Georgia, Dagestan, Caspian sea, Persia and Armenia.
Government: A Soviet Socialist Republic
Area: 32,686 sq. miles
Population: 2,096,973 in 1923
Capital: Baku




Location: A Seaport on the Black sea
Government: N/A
Area: N/A
Population: N/A
Capital: N/A

Batum is the capitol of Adzhar, a territory which, in 1921, became an autonomus republic of the Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic.
Stamps of Batum were issued under the administration of British forces which occupied Batum and environs between December, 1918, and July, 1920, following the treaty of Versailles.




Location: In Siberia east of lake Baikel
Government: Republic
Area: 900,745 sq. miles
Population: 1,560,00 (in 1920)
Capital: Chita

A short-lived independent government was established here in 1920.




Location: In the southern part of Russia, bordering on the Black sea and occupying the entire western part of Transcaucasia.
Government: A Soviet Socialist Republic
Area: 25,760 sq. miles (in 1920)
Population: 2,372,403 (in 1920)
Capital: Tbilisi (Tiflis)

Georgia was formerly a province of the Russian Empire and later part of the Transcaucasian Federation of the Soviet Republics.
Stamps of Georgia were replaced in 1923 by those of Transcaucasian Federated Republics.




Location: An area in southern Russia bordering on the Caspian and Black seas
Government: N/A
Area: N/A
Population: N/A
Capital: N/A

A provisional government set up and maintained by General Denikin in opposition to the Bolshevik forces in Russia following the downfall of the Empire.
The stamps were used in the field postal service established for carrying on communication between the various armies united in the revolt. These armies included the Don Cossacks, the Kuban Cossacks, and also the neighboring southern Russian people in favor of the counter-revolution against the Bolsheviks.




Location: Between the Sayan Mountains and the Tannu-Ola mountains (today it includes all of the Tannu-Ola mountains, including the southern face and some of the plains to the south). It is basically the basin of the upper reaches of the Yenisei River, which then cuts through the Sayan mountains at the border of Tuva to drain north into the Arctic Ocean.
Government: A former republic closely identified with Soviet Russia in Asia
Area: 64,000 sq. miles
Population: 65,000 in 1927.
Today there are something like 300,000 inhabitants
Capital: Kyzyl

The status of Tuva was settled by treaty between the USSR and the newly independent Mongolia. Mongolia thought Tuva was part of Mongolia (so did the Tuvans, actually), but Russia wanted it otherwise --- and the price of Russian support against China for Mongolian independence (without which an independent Mongolia would never have survived) was that they give up their claim to Tuva.
When Tuva was absorbed by the USSR, it became part of the RSFSR. Thus later it became part of the Russian Federation, of which it is one of the constituent republics (the Republic of Tuva, or Tyva RepubliKa).
(with thanks to Alan Leighton)



(Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan)

Location: In southeastern Europe, south of the Caucasus Mountains between the Black and Caspian sea
Government: A former republic
Area: 71,255 sq. miles
Population: 5,851,00
Capital: Tiflis

The Transcaucasian Federation was made up the former autonomies of Armenia, Georgia and Azerbaijan.
Its stamps were replaced by those of Russia.




Location: In southern Europe, bordering the Black sea
Government: Republic
Area: 170,998 sq. miles
Population: 51,940,426 (in 1992)
Capital: Kiev

Following the collapse of the Russian Empire, a national assembly met at Kiev and formed the Ukrainian National republic. On July 6, 1923, the Ukraine joined the Soviet Union and since that time the postage stamps of the Soviet Union have been in use.
With the breakup of the Soviet Union on December 26, 1991, Ukraine and ten former Soviet Republics established the Commonwealth of Independent states.




Location: In Eastern Central Europe
Government: A former, short-lived independent state
Area: N/A
Population: N/A
Capital: N/A

A provisional government was established in 1918 in the eastern part of Austria-Hungary but the area later came under Polish administration.


Copyright © 1988 - 2013 by:
Jan Langenberg

All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted or otherwise used, except with the prior written permission of owner.

Last modified